Moving a policy

You can move policies from one administration group to another. For example, you want to delete a group, but you want to use its policies for another group. In this case, you move the policy from the old group to the new one before deleting the old group.

To move a policy to another administration group:

  1. On the DEVICES tab, select POLICIES & PROFILES.
  2. Select the check box next to the policy (policies) that you want to move.
  3. Click the Move button.

    On the right side of the screen, the tree of the administration groups appears.

  4. In the tree, select the target group, i.e. the group to which you want to move the policy (policies).
  5. Click the Move button at the bottom of the screen.
  6. Click OK to confirm the operation.

If a policy is not inherited in the source group, it is moved to the target group with all its profiles. The status of the policy in the target group is Inactive. You can change the status to Active at any time.

If a policy is inherited in the source group, it remains in the source group. It is copied to the target group with all its profiles. The status of the policy in the target group is Inactive. You can change the status to Active at any time.

If a policy with the name identical to that of the newly moved policy already exists in the target group, the name of the newly moved policy is expanded with the (<next sequence number>) index, for example: (1).

Page top